

Minutes of HIGHLANDS ASTRONOMICAL SOCIETY SC 037209 ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING 1st APRIL 2008

The Green House, Inverness at 19.30

Chairman John Gilmour welcomed all those attending.

Eligible Members Present:

Donald Boyd Jean Millwood Rita Cameron Arthur Milnes Ian Cassels Linda Moncur Christine Clifford Marian Porteous Kenneth Cormack Cecil Robertson Ian Drysdale Douglas Robertson John Rosenfield Pat Escott Tim Schroder Craig Ferguson Rhona Fraser Trina Shaddick Oliver Smith John Gilmour David Hughes Joan Thomson Bill Jappy Simon Urry Bill Leslie Peter Urry Donald MacDonald Steven White Pauline Macrae Pat Williams

31 members out of a total of 85 paid up and life members attended. A

quorum requires a quarter of the members to be present. Former member Rick Dallas was also present.

Apologies were received from:

Fred Millwood

Eric Walker Lewis Forbes Antony McEwan

Pat Williams Page 1 of 3 14/04/2009

.

AGENDA

1. Adoption of the Minutes of Annual General Meeting 2007.

These were unanimously adopted.

Adoption was proposed by Donald Boyd and seconded by David Hughes.

2. Adoption of the Chairman's Report for 2007-08.

This was unanimously adopted.

Proposed by Arthur Milnes and seconded by John Rosenfield.

3. Adoption of the Secretary's Report.

This was unanimously adopted.

Proposed by David Hughes and seconded by Rhona Fraser.

4. Adoption of the Treasurer's Report

The report was unanimously adopted.

Christine Clifford proposed adoption seconded by Pauline Macrae.

Pat Escott, Treasurer, expanded on her report which was part of the 2007-08 OSCR Annual Return. Firstly she thanked Neil Johnstone FCCA of Ernst & Young for his Independent Examiner's report and for the guidance he had given the society in preparing this. She also thanked him for the additional photocopies of the report that he had let us have.

She emphasised that she was advised that members must pay their annual subscription within three months of the start of the financial year. It was pointed out that this would be difficult for some as our membership year runs two months behind our financial year. This will be addressed in due course. Meanwhile members are asked to pay their subscriptions promptly in May.

It was noted that all official documents including official e-mails must include the name of the society and the charity number.

5. Election of Secretary.

Eric Walker was elected in absentia having previously agreed to stand. He was nominated by Rhona Fraser and seconded by David Hughes. There being no other nominations Eric was duly elected.

6. Vote of Thanks to Outgoing Secretary.

Pauline Macrae thanked Pat Williams for her work as secretary mentioning in particular the work involved in the very successful Scottish Astronomers Group weekend in Inverness in 2005.

7. Subscriptions.

It was thought that subscriptions would need to be raised and that details of this would be available by May.

8. Any Other Competent Business.

Αç

Arthur Milnes proposed a vote of thanks to John Gilmour who then thanked his committee.

All the items on the agenda were chaired by Chairman John Gilmour.	
The AGM part of the evening was closed at 20.04 pm.	
Signed:	(Chairman)
	7 th April 2009

Pat Williams Page 3 of 3 14/04/2009

.